WELCOME RAM and SWEF SERVICE PROVIDERS:

Information About the Rest Area Maintenance (RAM) and Safety Weight Enforcement Facilities Maintenance (SWEFM) Programs:

•    The Rest Area Maintenance program has been in existence since 1987
•    The Safety Weight Enforcement Facilities Maintenance program has been in existence since 2001
•    Emphasis of both programs is to provide work opportunities to individuals with varied abilities
•    Both programs are 100% funded from WisDOT program revenue dollars (fuel taxes, license/registration fees)
•    There are currently 132 properties and 22 service providers in the programs
•    WisDOT owns the sites
•    WisDOT’s Bureau of Highway Maintenance (BHM) manages the sites
•    BHM contracts with service providers to do the work at sites
•    BHM contracts with DSPN Roadside Facilities (RF) to provide program management services for both programs

Please e-mail rfwi@dspn.org if you need a User Login to the Roadside Facilities website. Remember to include First and Last Name, Organization, Title, and work e-mail. We welcome suggestions on things you would like to have included in this area. Please submit your ideas to cchesney@dspn.org.

Resources:

CONVENTION & VISITOR BUREAU SITES (CVBs)

  • CVBs are located at five roadside facilities sites

  • The space is provided by WisDOT Bureau of Highway Maintenance (BHM)

  • Visitor Bureau areas are cleaned and maintained by service provider staff

  • DSPN Roadside Facilities manages provided services, resolves issues, and facilitates CVB advisory group meetings

 

Rest Area Advisory Group (RAAG)
This forum is intended to be an open exchange between key stakeholder management to foster improved communications among the parties to improve relationships, identify concerns, create mutually acceptable solutions tempered by funding availability.

 

Following is a list of the Rest Area Advisory Group:

WisDOT

Dan Mulder (CHAIR)                

WisDOT, BHM Section Chief     

608.234.7257                             

Daniel.Mulder@dot.wi.gov

 

Biren Patel                                 

WisDOT Rest Area Engineer     

608.699.1837                             

biren.patel@dot.wi.gov           

DSPN - Roadside Facilities

Pat Karlen

DSPN Director of Roadside Facilities

& Operations

608.220.1962

pkarlen@dspn.org

 

Joe Giertych                                  

Field Services Manager, Sr         

608.712.4008                                

jgiertych@dspn.org

               

Wisconsin Department of Tourism

Drew Nussbaum

Regional Tourism Specialist

715.299.5422

anussbaum@travelwisconsin.com

Rest Area 26 - Kenosha CVB

Eva Hoey

Visit Kenosha
262-857-7164

eva@VisitKenosha.com

Rest Area 22 - Beloit CVB

Celestino Ruffini

Visit Beloit

608.313.1360

celestino@visitbeloit.com

Rest Area 31 – LaCrosse CVB

Janet Dahl

Explore LaCrosse

608.782.2327

dahl@explorelacrosse.com

Rest Area 61 – Menomonie CVB

Dana Crosson

Visit Eau Claire

715.829.2685
dana@visiteauclaire.com

SWEF 11 - Dickeyville CVB

Robert Keeney  

Grant County Tourism Services                              608.988.6969

rkeeney@co.grant.wi.gov

AJ Koch

WisDOT Engineer 

608.228.8399

Andrew.koch@dot.wi.gov

 

Joseph Coughlin

WisDOT Rest Area Engineer

608.716.1963

joseph.coughlin@dot.wi.gov

 

Celina Chesney

Facilities and Asset Management Specialist

608.661.2914

cchesney@dspn.org

Rest Area 26 – Kenosha Svc Provider Mgmt

Isobel O’Rourke

Kenosha Achievement Center, Inc.

262.857.6848

isobel@thekac.com

Rest Area 22 – Beloit Svc Provider Mgmt

Ken Sween

VIP Services, Inc.

262.749.1878

kensween@vipservices-inc.org

Rest Area 31 – LaCrosse Svc Provider Mgmt

Betty Olson

APTIV, Inc.

608.785.3523

betty.olson@aptiv.org

Rest Area Service Provider 

Rest Area 61 – Menomonie Svc Provider Mgmt

Mike Beaupre

Indianhead Enterprises of Menomonie, Inc.

715.232.6460

mike@indianheadenterprises.com

SWEF 11 – Dickeyville Svc Provider Mgmt

Ryan Tichenor

Handishop Industries, Inc

608.343.7049

rtichenor@handishop.org